Feb 1, 2014

Book Review: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan !!!


Title: Uninvited
Author: Sophie Jordan
Published on: 28th January 2014
Publisher: Harper Teen
Source: e-ARC from Edelweiss


   


Synopsis:

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.


When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.



Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.



The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

My Thoughts:

Rating: 3.5 Stars

I got this book from the publisher, free of cost, in exchange of an honest review from my side.

Firstly I would like to thank the publisher and the author for giving me this opportunity of reading and reviewing this book.

Well, I really liked this story but as the others also pointed out, I didn't quite understand the origin of the HTS as well as why and what made the people test people to check whether they had HTS in their genes. We don't get much background in here and also the author didn't clearly explain how this turn came in the future world.

Moreover the action that the government took to get rid of this 'problem' in human gene, i.e. to torture the people who haven't even done anything to trigger any suspicion was just unbelievable. This reminded me of a movie I watched recently on TV named Sleepers where the teenage boys in Juvenile Home were tortured brutally and  those who were just mere naughty boys became murderers and smugglers due to this torture. So, I think instead of eradicating this threat of violence the government made it acute. But maybe the author wanted to portray exactly that but I didn't understand.

The characters were good, no doubt but shockingly I liked Gil more than Davy or Sean. My least favourite was Davy, she didn't seem real rather I felt her to be a little useless, I guess but I loved Sean very much. He is strong and can't stop to stand against any wrong deed even if it threatened his life. I felt his emotions too and why at first he tried to avoid Davy but miserably failed. It was cute!!!

Over all I loved the mystery very much but the ending wasn't much interesting. The way they escaped the problems was much too easy and it didn't trigger any fear in me. It was an average read for me. 


1 comment:

  1. I really enjoyed it, but yeah, like you said, there was not background to the familiar but different world of our own, would've made it more solid. The ending was rushed, considering the amount of build up you had to get to that, that was a bit disappointing. Despite the issues, glad you kind-of enjoyed it. :)


    Kirsty @ StudioReads

    ReplyDelete

Comments

Follow by Email

Followers